• Please log in to reply
&nsbp;

#1 Create This

Create This

• Guests
  • 53 posts

Posted 20 May 2007 - 06:00 PM

Hello All,
I finished up my portfolio last week, and i need some critiques. Here is the link:

Http://avisualidentity.com

I am aware, that i need to change some pieces out, like switch magazines to websites, and make packaging a corporate packaging page. In fact i may need to change alot on it after hearing some good input, my goal is to open a design studio, and also become a design team member.

I am lucky though because i am an inhouse graphic designer for a company here in phoenix so i have all the time in the world to get my portfolio 100%, ALL FEEDBACK IS WELCOME GOOD AND BAD. Thanks!

#2 harrisp9

harrisp9

Apprentice Designer

• Designer
  • 54 posts

Posted 21 May 2007 - 03:03 AM

Hey CT (I have a friend nicknamed CT = Chocolate Thunder lol), great start on the portfolio! You're way ahead of me on that one =P Anyways I do have a few suggestions (but trust I am no expert, and you might be better off to ignore my advice)

First thing that I see is the colored pencil graphic, which definately helps to convey that you are a designer, but I feel that the colors of the graphic (the lightblue/teal/green/brown) conflict with that of the site (mostly red on black). Maybe if you changed the red text to a blue or green it would help (would you call this the color balance?)

Secondly, the first impression is very important. Here is the first sentence, "Welcome, you’ve reached avisualidentity.com. a graphic design studio." You should pay most attention to what kind of first impression you want to make. After ".com" you should use a comma instead of a period. I would also consider rewording this sentence all together, make it interesting and appealing. Personally I would avoid use of "we" (unless involving multiple people of coarse), and portray the site as "my" portfolio.